Youth Council Elect New Officers


On Sunday, October 14 the Mashpee Wampanoag Youth Council elected a new slate of officers to lead the council over the upcoming year. At the annual elections, which were held at the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Community and Government Center, tribal youth elected Abigail Peters, Chairperson; Iyano Fermino - Vice Chairperson; Taylor Rose, Co-Secretary; Troy Stewart, Co-Secretary; Kobi Howerton, Treasurer; Amiyah Peters, Female Representative; Ceasar Hendricks, Male Representative; Jenaya Perry, Youth Council Member; and DJ Peters, Youth Council Member.

The Mashpee Wampanoag Youth Council meetings are open to all Mashpee Wampanoag youth between the ages of 13 and 20 years old. In order to become a member of the youth council, youth need to attend three consecutive meetings and then be approved by seated youth council members.

Congratulations to the newly elected officers and to all of our youth that participated in the process and to Ann Marie Askew and Robert Dias Tribal Council Liaisons.