

MASHPEE WAMPANOAG TRIBE REGULAR TRIBAL COUNCIL MEETING Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Community/Government Center Tribal Council Chambers – 483 Great Neck Rd S – Mashpee, MA 02649 Wednesday, August 4, 2021 – 5:30p.m. -8:00p.m. Available by ZOOM

Meeting Minutes

(Revised & Approved with Edits 8/19/2021)

Call to Order

Chairman Brian Weeden called to order the Regular Tribal Council Meeting on August 8, 2021 at 5:36p.m. Regular session began at 5:36p.m. Entered into executive session at 6:46p.m. Exited executive session at 7:58p.m. Regular session extended to 8:30p.m. Entered into executive session at 8:00p.m. Exited executive session at 8:28p.m. Regular session adjourned at 8:31p.m.

Members in attendance:

Chairman Brian Weeden, Vice Chairman Carlton Hendricks, Jr., Secretary Cassie Jackson, Treasurer Marie Stone, Councilwoman Edwina Johnson-Graham, Councilman Domingo Teixiera, Councilwoman Rita Gonsalves (late arrival), Councilman Nelson Andrews, Jr., Councilman David Weeden, Councilman Aaron Tobey, Jr., Councilwoman Yvonne Avant (late arrival) Quorum (11)

Opening Prayer

Yvonne Tobey

Commencement

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2nd Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to commence meeting at 5:36p.m. All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Teixiera, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Council, Councilman Tobey, Treasurer Stone. All those not present: Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilwoman Avant Motion passed.

Approval of Agenda

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2^{nd} by Councilman Weeden to accept and approve the agenda of 8/4/2021 with edits.

All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Teixiera, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Council, Councilman Tobey, Treasurer Stone.

All those abstained: Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilwoman Avant Motion passed.

Approval of Minutes

Motion made by Vice Chairman Hendricks 2nd Councilman Andrews to accept and approve meeting minutes of 7/28/2021 with edits. All those in favor: Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Teixiera, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant All those abstained: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Treasurer Stone Motion passed.

Public Comment

Yvonne Tobey, Rosalie Miranda, Edwina Johnson-Graham, Michelle Tobey

Committees and Commissions

None

Old Business Ratifications / Emergency Votes None

Financial Update Discussed

Hazard Pay-Risk Levels Tabled

New Business

Approval of Service Agreement with Siemens

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Councilman Teixiera to accept and approve resolution 2021-RES-046 Approval of Service Agreement with Siemens. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present Motion passed.

Approval of NCAI Membership

Motion made by Councilwoman Avant 2nd by Councilman Weeden to accept and approve resolution 2021-RES-041 Approval and Authorization of National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) Tribal Membership. All those in favor: Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Teixiera, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone

All those Abstained: Councilwoman Edwina Johnson-Graham. Motion passed.

Approval of USET Membership

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Councilman Andrews to accept and approve resolution 2021-RES-047 Approval and Authorization of USET Tribal Membership. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Approval of Contract with Alternate Judge

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2nd by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to accept and approve 2021-RES-048 Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Contract with Alternate District Court Judge Jan W. Morris.

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2nd by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to lay on the table resolution 2021-RES-048 to address concerns of Treasurer Stone and Councilman Tobey. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Approval of Nantucket Sound Designation Letter of Support

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2nd by Treasurer Stone to accept and approve resolution 2021-RES-049 Approval of Letter of Support for the Designation of Nantucket Sound As Traditional Cultural Property Through the Nantucket Sound National Historical Landmark Act.

All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Teixiera, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone.

All those abstained: Councilwoman Gonsalves Motion passed.

Approval of Wamp Wheels

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2nd by Councilwoman Avant to accept and approve Wamp Wheels to provide food services on tribal properties to the end of 2021. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present Motion passed.

Council Waiver Approval(s)

Motion made by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham 2nd by Secretary Jackson to accept and approve waiver for Councilwoman Yvonne Avant to receive funding from MWT CCDF program as caregiver. All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Teixiera, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Treasurer Stone

All those Recused: Councilwoman Avant Motion passed.

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2nd by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to accept and approve waiver for Councilwoman Yvonne Avant to receive funding from MWT Housing Department/US Treasury as landlord. All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Teixiera, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Treasurer Stone

All those recused: Councilwoman Avant Motion passed.

Executive Session

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2^{nd} by Secretary Jackson to enter into executive session at 6:46p.m. No Roll Call.

Exited executive session at 7:58p.m.

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2nd by Vice Chairman Hendricks to extend meeting to 8:30p.m. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Entered into executive session at 8:00p.m.

Exited executive session at 8:28p.m.

Motion made by Councilman Andrews 2nd by Councilwoman Avant to appoint Rita Lopez as Interim Tribal Administrator effectively immediately being compensated \$10 extra per hour until a permanent Tribal Administrator is hired. All those in favor: Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Teixiera, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant All those recused: Councilwoman Gonsalves Motion passed.

Motion made by Councilwoman Avant 2nd by Councilman Teixiera to adjourn the regular meeting at 8:31p.m. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Respectfully Submitted,

Cassie Jackson

Secretary