

MASHPEE WAMPANOAG TRIBE REGULAR TRIBAL COUNCIL MEETING Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Community/Government Center Tribal Council Chambers – 483 Great Neck Rd S – Mashpee, MA 02649 Tuesday, August 17, 2021 – 9:00a.m. -5:00p.m. Available via ZOOM

Minutes Approved with Edits 9/8/2021

Call to order

Chairman Brian Weeden called to order the Regular Tribal Council Meeting on August 17, 2021 at 9:32p.m. Regular session began at 9:32a.m. Regular session adjourned at 5:00p.m.

Members in attendance

Chairman Brian Weeden, Vice Chairman Carlton Hendricks, Jr., Secretary Cassie Jackson, Treasurer Marie Stone, Councilwoman Edwina Johnson-Graham, Councilman Domingo Tiexeira, Councilwoman Rita Gonsalves, Councilman Nelson Andrews, Jr., Councilman David Weeden, Councilman Aaron Tobey Jr., Councilwoman Yvonne Avant Quorum (11)

Opening Prayer

Treasurer Stone

Commencement

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to Commence the Mashpee Wampanoag Regular Tribal Council meeting at 9:32a.m. at the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Community and Government Center Tribal Council Chambers at 483 Great Neck Road South, Mashpee, MA 02649 on Tuesday, August 17, 2021. Unanimous by all present Motion passed.

Approval of Agenda

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Vice Chairman Hendricks to accept and approve Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Council Meeting agenda dated August 17, 2021. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Meeting Minutes None

Public Comment None

Committees/Commissions/Appointments

None

NEW BUSINESS Budget Review

Development-Kim Maida

Motion made by Vice Chairman 2nd by Treasurer Stone to approve the 2022 Development budget in the amount of \$156,379.00. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Natural Resource Department-Jason Steiding

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Secretary Jackson to approve 2022 EPA GAP for the Natural Resources Department in the amount of \$155,799.98. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to approve the NRD TAS funds in amount of \$65,650.00. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to approve 2022 Wetlands funds in the amount of \$55,073.64. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Secretary Jackson to approve 2022 TWG Santuit River Brook Trout funds in the amount of \$199,999.98. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Education- Roxanne Brown Motion made by Vice Chairman Hendricks 2nd by Treasurer Stone to accept the Education STEP grant in the amount of \$362,133.38. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present Motion passed.

Motion made by Vice Chairman Hendricks 2nd by Treasurer Stone to accept the Indian Ed Grant in the amount of \$148,452. Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Housing-Michelle Tobey Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2nd by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to accept housing department budget as presented. All in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed

TERO-Winona Pocknett

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to accept and approve the Tribal Employment Rights Office 2022 budget of \$95,887.56. All in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Emergency Management-Nelson Andrews

Motion made by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham 2nd by Councilwoman Avant to approve the EPREP Department Grant for FY 2022 totaling \$1,364,404.20. All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Tiexeira, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone. All those recuse: Councilwoman Andrews All those not present: Councilman Weeden Motion passed.

Public Works-Latoya Green

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Secretary Jackson to approve IRR grant along with supporting grants totaling \$1,331,277.17 for FY 2022. All those in favor: Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Tiexeira, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone. All those not present: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham (left at 1:13p.m.)

Motion passed.

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Secretary Jackson to approve Transportation grant totaling \$36,067.00 All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

<u>Recess</u>

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Secretary Jackson to recess 1:32p.m.. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present Motion passed.

Motion made by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham 2nd by Secretary Jackson to reconvene todays Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council regular scheduled meeting on Tuesday, August 17, 2021 at 2:46p.m. All those in favor: unanimous by those present All those not present: Treasurer Stone Motion passed.

477-Marnell Cash

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd Councilwoman Johnson-Graham that we reallocate in 2022 budget that the director of education salary and fringe be taken from the BIA 638 budget. All in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passes.

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to appoint Darlene Scott as 100% coordinator for the 477 program.

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to lay the previous motion on table. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed. Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Vice Chairman Hendricks to table the 477 budget. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed <u>THPD-David Weeden</u> Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2nd by Councilwoman Graham to approve 2022 initial budget for THPD in the amount of \$300,000.00. All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Vice Chairman Hendricks, Councilman Tiexeira, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Andrews, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone. All those abstained: Councilman Weeden All those opposed: Councilman Tobey Motion passed.

Adjournment

Motion made by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham 2nd by Secretary Jackson to adjourn at 5:00p.m.. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Respectfully Submitted, *Cassie D. Jackson* Secretary