

# MASHPEE WAMPANOAG TRIBE REGULAR TRIBAL COUNCIL MEETING

Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Community/Government Center Tribal Council Chambers – 483 Great Neck Rd S – Mashpee, MA 02649 Wednesday, July 14, 2021 – 5:30p.m. -8:00p.m. Also available by ZOOM

# Minutes (Approved w/ edits 7/28/2021)

#### Call to Order

Chairman Brian Weeden called to order the Regular Tribal Council Meeting on July 14, 2021 at 5:38p.m. Regular session began at 5:38p.m.

Executive session began at 7:32p.m.

Exited executive session at 7:32p.iii.

Regular session adjourned at 7:47p.m.

#### **Members in attendance:**

Chairman Brian Weeden, Secretary Cassie Jackson, Treasurer Marie Stone, Councilman Domingo Tiexeira, Councilman Aaron Tobey, Jr., Councilwoman Edwina Johnson-Graham, Councilwoman Yvonne Avant, Councilman Nelson Andrews, Jr., Councilman David Weeden, Councilwoman Rita Gonsalves (Quorum 10) <a href="Excused absence:"><u>Excused absence:</u></a> Vice Chairman Carlton Hendricks, Jr.

Guests: Erik Peckar, Nathaniel Mayo, Rachel Pachter, Attorney Jeff Loeb

#### HOUSEKEEPING

Opening Prayer

Rita Gonsalves

#### **Meeting Commencement**

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2<sup>nd</sup> by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to commence the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Regular Tribal Council Meeting held at the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe Community and Government Center located at 483 Great Neck Road South, Mashpee, MA 02649 on Wednesday, July 14, 2021 at 5:38p.m. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present.

Motion passes.

## **Approval of Agenda**

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2<sup>nd</sup> by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to accept and approve the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council Regular Meeting Agenda for July 14, 2021.

All those in favor: Unanimous by all present.

Motion passed.

## **Meeting Minutes**

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2<sup>nd</sup> by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to accept and approve with edits the MWTC Regular Tribal Council meeting minutes of July 7, 2021.

All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone.

All those abstained: Councilman Tiexeira, Councilman Andrews.

Motion passed.

#### **Public Comment**

Crystal Asiwe, David Pocknett, Yvonne Tobey, Kimberly Frye, Karen Siegel

## Committees, Commissions, Appointments

 ${\it Motion made by Treasurer Stone} \ 2^{\it nd} \ {\it Council woman Johnson-Graham to reappoint Nancy Rose to CDC}.$ 

All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Councilman Texiera, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Treasurer Stone.

All those recused: Councilwoman Avant

*Motion passed.* 

Motion made by Treasurer Stone 2<sup>nd</sup> by Secretary Jackson to appoint Robert Kyle Bassett to CDC.

All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Councilman Tiexeira, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone. Motion passed.

Motion made by Treasurer Stone  $2^{nd}$  by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to appoint Kristine Foster to the Youth Advisory Committee.

All those in favor: Unanimous by all present.

Motion passed.

Motion made by Treasurer Stone  $2^{nd}$  by Secretary Jackson to appoint Roby Tobey-Sweeting to the Housing Commission.

All those in favor: Unanimous by all present.

Motion passed.

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

## **Ratifications**

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2<sup>nd</sup> by Councilwoman Graham to accept and approve 2021-RES-039 Ratification of Approval of Title I, Subpart J, Construction Contract for Mashpee Service Unit-I.H.S. Expansion.

All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson Graham, Secretary Jackson, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone.

All those abstained: Councilman Tiexeira, Councilman Andrews

All those recused: Councilwoman Gonsalves.

Motion passed.

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2<sup>nd</sup> by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to accept and approve 2021-RES-040 Ratification of Approval of Sixth Amendment to Memorandum of Understanding and Deputization Agreement with City of Taunton.

All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Councilwoman Gonsalves, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone.

All those abstained: Councilman Tiexeira, Councilman Andrews.

Motion passed.

## Special Tribal Elections Update

Discussed

## MOU Vineyard Wind

Recommended for further discussion.

#### SSBI Approval/CDC

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2<sup>nd</sup> by Councilwoman Johnson-Graham to accept and approve 2021-RES-038 U.S. Department of Treasury State Small Business Credit Initiative.

All those in favor: Councilwoman Johnson-Graham, Secretary Jackson, Councilman Texiera, Councilman Andrews, Councilman Weeden, Councilman Tobey, Councilwoman Avant, Treasurer Stone.

# Caregiver Expansion Approval

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2<sup>nd</sup> by Treasurer Stone to accept and approve 2021-RES-037 Elder Services of Cape Cod & The Islands Title III of the Older Americans Act Grant.

All those in favor: Unanimous by all present.

Motion passed.

## Financial Update

Discussed.

#### Operations Update

Tabled.

## Tribal Council Pay

Tabled.

## Hazard Pay – Risk Levels/REDW

Tabled.

#### **Liaison Duties**

Discussed.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

**Ethics Update (Working Group)** 

Discussed.

#### **EXECUTIVE**

#### **RGB** Invoice

Discussed.

Motion made by Secretary Jackson 2<sup>nd</sup> by Councilwoman Avant to enter into executive session at 7:32p.m. All those in favor: Unanimous by all present.

Motion passed.

Exited executive Session at 7:44p.m.

Motion made by Treasurer Stone  $2^{nd}$  by Secretary Jackson that the Tribal Council move forward with settlement agreement and release from RGB in the amount of \$149,750.00.

All in favor: Unanimous by all present.

Motion passed.

# **Next Meeting**

July 28, 2021 @ 5:30p.m. in person and via zoom.

# Adjournment

Motion made by Treasurer Stone  $2^{nd}$  by Secretary Jackson to adjourn the meeting at 7:47p.m. All in favor: unanimous by all present. Motion passed.

Respectfully Submitted, *Cassie D. Jackson*Secretary