

Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council
483 Great Neck Road South
Mashpee, MA 02649
Via Zoom Conference call
Emergency Tribal Council Meeting
November 13, 2020
(Revised)

Call to Order

Jessie Baird

Opening Prayer

Ann Marie Askew

Vice Chairwoman Baird called to order the Emergency Tribal Council Meeting of the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council.

Regular session began at 12:30p.m.

Adjourned at 1:31p.m.

Housekeeping

Attendance: Winnie Johnson Graham, Brian Weeden, Rita Gonsalves, Carlton Hendricks, David Weeden,

Aaron Tobey, Jr., Yvonne Avant, and Ann Marie Askew

Excused absence: Gordon Harris

Motion made by Secretary Askew and 2nd by Councilwoman Avant to commence today's emergency Tribal Council meeting on Friday 11/13/2020 via zoom conference call from 12:30-2:30pm. All those in favor were Councilwoman Johnson Graham, Councilwoman Avant, and Secretary Askew. All those not present for the vote were Councilman B. Weeden and Councilman Hendricks. Motion passed.

Motion made by Councilman D. Weeden and 2nd by Councilwoman Avant to accept approve today's Emergency meeting agenda dated for Friday 11/13/2020 via zoom conference call. Unanimous by all those present. Motion passed.

Public Comment

None

New Business

Federal indictment-Chairman Cedric Cromwell

Motion made by Councilman D. Weeden and 2nd by Councilwoman Avant to go into Executive session. Motion failed.

Motion made to amend by Secretary Askew and second by Councilman B. Weeden to table going into Executive session. Unanimous by all those present to stay into executive session.

Motion made by Councilman Tobey and 2nd by Councilman Hendricks to amend motion for Tribal Council to remove Cedric Cromwell and any Tribal Council member resign who has voted for him to remain in his seat at the last meeting. All those in favor were Councilman Hendricks and Councilman Tobey. All those opposed were Councilwoman Johnson Graham, Councilman D. Weeden, Councilwoman Avant, and Secretary Askew. All those who abstained were Councilman B. Weeden and Councilwoman Gonsalves. Motion failed.

Motion made by councilman D. Weeden and 2nd by Secretary Askew to remove Chairman Cedric Cromwell from the seat as Chairman of the tribe in light of current situation Chairman Cromwell is unsuitable to remain in his seat as Chairman of the tribe and all Tribal assets and authorized signatory authority shall be stripped. Unanimous by all those present. Motion passed.

Amendment made by Councilman B Weeden and 2nd by Secretary Askew to remove the Chairman from the seat and all his Tribal assets removed effective immediately. Unanimous by all those present. Motion passed.

Motion made by Councilman Aaron Tobey and 2nd by Councilman Carlton Hendricks to amend motion for Tribal Council to remove Chairman Cedric Crowell and any Tribal Council member who has voted for the chairman to remain in his seat to resign from their seat. All those opposed were Councilwoman Winnie Johnson Graham, Councilman David Weeden, Councilwoman Avant, and Secretary Askew. All those who abstained were Councilman B. Weeden and Councilwoman Gonsalves. All those in favor Councilman Hendricks, and Councilman Tobey.

Motion made by Councilwoman Johnson Graham and 2nd by Councilwoman Avant to adjourn today's Emergency Tribal Council meeting at 1:31pm. Unanimous by all those present. Motion passes.

Submitted by: Secretary Ann Marie Askew Revised by: Secretary Cassie Jackson

Approved with edits by: Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council June 9, 2021